A Salute to Humph – UK Tour, Tuesday 16th November – Wednesday 8th December 2021

A Salute to Humph
UK Tour, The tour will be running
Tuesday 16th November – Wednesday 8th December 2021

Celebrating the 100th anniversary
of Humphrey Lyttelton’s birth
& his wonderful life, times and music

2021 will see the 100th anniversary of the birth of Humphrey Lyttelton, the elder statesman of British Jazz, who led the way for the jazz revival of the late 40s and 50s, and brought jazz to the mainstream with the first UK jazz record to reach the Top 20, ‘Bad Penny Blues’. Lyttelton was of course just as well-known for his broadcasting work, as the host of Radio 2’s The Best of Jazz and Radio 4’s I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue.

‘Salute to Humph’ is led by jazz trumpeter Chris Hodgkins, a stalwart of the British Jazz scene. Chris has put together an impressive ten-piece band featuring top UK and US musicians who will really do Humph’s music justice.

The programme will also include new original music based on Lyttelton’s writings and journals. The National Jazz Archive and The Jazz Centre in Southend, who hold an archive of his private papers, instruments and other ephemera, are supporting the tour; a travelling exhibition on Humph’s life and times will accompany the band.

The show is a multi-media presentation and there will be a visual archive display during the performance.

The tour has the support of Susan da Costa, Humph’s long-time manager, and is planned for Tuesday 16th November – Wednesday 8th December 2021

Booking Contact
Ina Dittke
01273 286960


Chris Hodgkins – trumpet, Henry Lowther – trumpet,
Charlotte Glasson – sax, Diane McLoughlin – sax, Mark Bassey – trombone
Alison Rayner – double bass, Cheryl Alleyne – drums
And all the way from the USA…!
Chris Johansen – sax, Jinjoo Yoo – piano, Wayne Wilkinson – guitar

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial