Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2019

Press Release

Voting is now open for the 2019 Parliamentary Jazz Awards, which will take place at PizzaExpress Live, Holborn, London on Tuesday 3rd December 2019. Entries are open to anyone with the final deadline for entries set for midnight on Friday 31st May 2019.

To vote please go to:

Please note the criteria for the different categories:

Jazz Album of the Year (released in 2018 by a UK band or musicians)

Services to Jazz Award (to a living person for their outstanding contribution to jazz in the UK).

Jazz Newcomer of the Year (UK-based artist, musician or group with a debut album released in 2018)

Jazz Education Award (to an educator or project for raising the standard of jazz education in the UK)

Jazz Media Award (including broadcasters, journalists, magazines, blogs, listings and books)

Jazz Venue of the Year (including jazz clubs, venues, festivals and promoters)

Jazz Ensemble of the Year (UK-based group who impressed in 2018)

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year (UK-based musician who impressed in 2018)

Jazz Vocalist of the Year (UK-based vocalist who impressed in 2018)

The awards are organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), co- chaired by Kelvin Hopkins MP and Lord Colwyn, and supported by PizzaExpress Live

Notes to the Editor

The All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) currently has over 80 members from the House of Commons and House of Lords across all political parties. Their aim is to encourage wider and deeper enjoyment of jazz, to increase Parliamentarians’ understanding of the jazz industry and issues surrounding it, to promote jazz as a musical form and to raise its profile inside and outside Parliament. The Group’s officers as at the 16th July 2018 are Co-Chairs, Kelvin Hopkins MP and Lord Colwyn, Secretary, Baroness Coussins, Vice Chairs, Alison Thewless MP and Sarah Champion MP, the Treasurer is Ian Paisley MP. Officers are: Lord Crathorne, John Mann MP and Sir Greg Knight MP. The Secretariat is Chris Hodgkins. The contact address is: The web address is:

With the support of :

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *