Voting is now open for the 2022 Parliamentary Jazz Awards

Press Release

Voting is now open for the 2022 Parliamentary Jazz Awards. Entries are open to anyone with the final deadline set for midnight on Sunday 27th March 2022. The Parliamentary Awards celebrate and recognise the vibrancy, diversity, talent and breadth of the jazz scene throughout the United Kingdom.

“These awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the talents and energies of the great musicians, educators, promoters, record labels, jazz organisations, blogs, jazz magazines and journalists who keep jazz flourishing, in spite of the challenges they faced in the last couple of years”.  John Spellar MP, Lord Mann, Co-chairs of APPJAG, Alison Thewless MP and Chi Onwurah MP, Vice Chairs.

To vote please go to: Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2022

Please note the criteria for the different categories:

Jazz Album of the Year (released in 2021 by a UK band or musicians).
Services to Jazz Award (to a living person for their outstanding contribution to jazz in the UK).
Jazz Newcomer of the Year (UK-based artist, musician or group with a debut album released in 2021).
Jazz Education Award (to an educator or project for raising the standard of jazz education in the UK).
Jazz Media Award (including broadcasters, journalists, magazines, blogs, listings and books).
Jazz Venue of the Year (including jazz clubs, venues, festivals and promoters).
Jazz Ensemble of the Year (UK-based group who impressed in 2021).
Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year (UK-based musician who impressed in 2021).
Jazz Vocalist of the Year (UK-based vocalist who impressed in 2021).

The awards are organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), co-chaired by John Spellar MP and Lord Mann.

Notes to the Editor

The All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) currently has over 116 members from the House of Commons and House of Lords across all political parties. Their aim is to encourage wider and deeper enjoyment of jazz, to increase Parliamentarians’ understanding of the jazz industry and issues surrounding it, to promote jazz as a musical form and to raise its profile inside and outside Parliament. The Group’s officers as at the Annual General Meeting on 1st March 2022 are Co-Chairs, John Spellar MP and Lord Mann, Secretary, Sir Greg Knight MP, Vice Chairs, Alison Thewless MP, Chi Onwurah MP, Lord McNicol and  Patrick Grady MP, the Treasurer is Ian Paisley MP. Officers are Lord Colwyn, Lord Alton and Sarah Champion MP.

The Secretariat is Chris Hodgkins with the assistance of Louis Flood, Ali Bland and Aoife Forbes. The contact address is: the web address is:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *